Essential Motorcycle Insurance Coverage to Purchase in North Carolina
May 11, 2017
If you own a motorcycle in North Carolina, you must have it insured, according to state law.
The minimum coverage you can have on your motorcycle in North Carolina is liability.
What Are the Mandatory Motorcycle Insurance Coverage Requirements in North Carolina?
Here are the mandatory insurance requirements for motorcycles in North Carolina:
$30,000 for bodily injuries or death to one person in a single accident.
$60,000 for bodily injuries or deaths to more than one person in a single accident.
$25,000 for property damage occurring in a single accident.
When you’re shopping for motorcycle insurance, remember that these requirements are the minimum coverage by law. You can add more coverage if you believe you need it.
What Are the Optional Coverage Options for Motorcycles?
Aside from liability insurance, most insurance companies that write motorcycle policies will offer other types of optional coverage that will give you added protections for damages and injuries you might incur if you are ever in a motorcycle accident. These include:
Collision – This will cover damage to your motorcycle if you are in an accident and it is your fault. For damages to your motorcycle after and accident.
Comprehensive – This is for any damages to your motorcycle that could happen that are not related to an accident.
Medical payments – If you are ever in a motorcycle accident and it is your fault, this type of coverage will help to pay your medical bills if you’re injured. Please note that Medical payments is not an option in North Carolina for motorcycles.
Towing and labor – If your motorcycle breaks down on the side of the highway, this type of coverage will make sure you get roadside assistance.
UM/UIM – Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist coverage to protect you in the event that the other vehicle that caused the wreck either has NO insurance (UM) or is Underinsured (UIM). In that case you can make a claim on your own policy to get the compensation that you deserve. This is perhaps THE MOST IMPORTANT COVERAGE that a rider can buy. It will protect you!
Even though the state keeps track of whether you have insurance through insurance companies that notify the DMV if there’s a lapse in coverage, you are still required by law to show proof of insurance if asked by law enforcement. All you have to do is keep your current insurance card on you at all times.
What Are the Penalties if You Fail to Maintain Proper Insurance for Your Motorcycle?
Now that you know what kind of insurance coverage you need, what can happen to you if you fail to keep proper insurance on your motorcycle?
Well, that depends:
First, your insurance company will let the DMV know that you don’t have current insurance.
Once that happens, a Form FS 6-7 notice will be sent to you.
If you did, in fact, have a lapse in your insurance coverage, you must show proof of your current coverage, pay the fine implemented by the DMV and mail it back to the department within a certain number of days of the date listed on the form.
If you fail to do the above, your license plates will likely be suspended for a month.
If that happens, you’ll have to wait the 30 days, then go to the DMV and clear things up, while likely paying a heftier fine.
If you or someone you love has been in a motorcycle accident, contact Robert Armstrong’s office today for help.